2021 New Work Award Winner: Deviani Andrea


Good Women Dance Collective is proud to present the 2021 New Work Award recipient to emerging choreographer and dancer, Deviani Andrea!

Mexican born, and a Canadian in process, Deviani has performed and toured with the National Folk-Dance Company and Mexican Folk-Dance Company and has quickly found her place within Amiskwaciwâskahikan (Edmonton) since her big move a few years ago.

Good Women was first introduced to Deviani when she dropped into weekly classes and we immediately recognized her potential as a young dancer. With an impressive drive to learn and find new ways to be creative, we admire how she seeks to find the aesthetic and expressiveness in every single body.

Well-versed in multiple styles of dance, Deviani continues to broaden her artistic range through collaboration, and has been sought out by notable artistic directors. As a contemporary dance performer, she has participated in The Collective Personal by Isabelle Schad, and was featured in the Mile Zero Dance main stage production, The Disaster Show by Gerry Morita in November 2020.

With the support that comes with the New Work Award, Deviani looks forward to creating a longer dance piece which will be presented at the 2021 Chinook Series.

“I have nothing but gratitude for Good Women, the Expanse Festival, and Edmonton’s entire dance community. With the support of this award, I look forward to growing as a professional dancer, and to dig more into my strength and femininity.” – Deviani Andrea

The New Work Award provides funding, mentorship and guidance for the development of a new work, created by an emerging artist to be and presented at the Expanse Festival.

The annual recipient receives:

  • $2000 in prize money
  • Mentorship from the Good Women Dance Collective
  • Access to rehearsal space
  • A performance spot at the 2022 Chinook Series

Previous New Work Award recipients include NASRA (2020), Alison Neuman (2019), NIUBOI (2018), Katherine Semchuk (2017), Aimee Rushton (2016), Anastasia Maywood (2015), Krista Posyniak (2014), Tatiana Cheladyn (2013).

*Photos by Marc J Chalifoux Photography.